Once enabled, Codecks supports two styles of time tracking:
To set your preferred time tracking mode, edit your organization settings (reachable via the joystick button in the top left). If time tracking is disabled, Codecks does not track any time and will also hide all input fields and reports related to tracking time.
In this mode the history sidebar of cards contains an Add Time button which allows to enter and edit time tracking information. Using the button, you may enter time spent and choose the date and time on which this work happened. The entered time-tracking data is always associated with your user account.
The history panel also shows previously tracked time. You can correct the tracked time by using the plus/minus buttons next to the time entry to add or remove time in 5 minutes steps (*spent too long at the coffee machine?).
You can also click on the time entry itself for an input field offering more extensive editing. You can delete the full time tracking entry by clicking the trash icon next to it.
At the top of the card history panel you’ll find a Total tracked time entry summing up all time entries on this card sorted by owner. There is also a small clock icon at the bottom of each card containing time information. Hovering over it will allow you to check the total amount of time spent at a glance.
Note that the brightness of the icon indicates different amounts of total tracked time:
You can also use time-tracking information to sort cards. This is a good way for quickly identifying expensive tasks in your milestone or deck view.
Enabling real-time tracking, includes all features described above for manual time-tracking. In addition, each card that you set to started will start tracking time and automatically update the time tracking data for this card, so you don’t have to manually enter time spent anymore.
This has two implications on the workflow of your cards.
If you use real-time tracking, Codecks will enforce the restriction that only one of the cards that you own can be started at any given time. Starting work on a card will move any other card that you currently own and that is started back to the regular assigned state.
This is to prevent accidentally assigning the same spent time to two different cards. Unless you have somehow mastered cloning yourself or twisting the time-space dimension this makes sense. If you have though, please submit a feature request for supporting your inter-dimensional use case.
Enabling real-time tracking also gives you a handy widget in the bottom left, which highlights your current task and the time spent so far. You can quickly adjust the time spent by using the plus/minus buttons. You can also stop the current card work by pressing the stop button on the widget.
In addition the web site title will change so that you can scan the time spent on your browser tab. In case you forget to stop the card timer you can always manually edit the card history to fix up the time. In your organization settings you will also find a field to edit the amount of time after which a card time tracker will stop automatically due to suspiciously effective work segments.
You can access the time tracking report via the mission control (open by clicking on the joystick in the top left). The report contains a detailed list of all time tracked by all team members.
You can sort by:
To filter the table use the filter icons next to the individual table columns to show/hide individual entries. You can filter by date, user and project.
At the bottom left you can see the total time tracked in Codecks.
You can export all information for your current filter in CSV format by clicking the export button in the bottom right.